Wild, Hamilton and hard work #LittleLoves

One of my friends joins in with the weekly #LittleLoves hashtag via the lovely http://coffeeworksleeprepeat.com.

I always enjoy it, so I thought I’d write my own. Here’s what I’ve been doing this week…

Read

wild

Wild by Cheryl Strayed is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time and I know it’ll stay with me. It had a similar feel to Eat Pray Love, which I also loved, in that it was the tale of one woman’s struggle to find herself. Cheryl’s story of her 1000-mile walk along the Pacific Crest Trail is so inspiring it almost – only almost – made me want to strap on some hiking boots myself.

Watched

15094I was late to The Good Wife party, but I am a committed fan. I love Alicia and Diane, I love Cary, I love Eli Gold – I love them all. And I’ve just started season six and HELLO Alicia’s new campaign manager.

Made

Plans! I went to a business start-up workshop run by Jane Knight, an inspirational local businesswoman and founder of www.successfulmums.co.uk. She’s really helped me think about where I want to be this time next year.

Wore

Hibs

Not me, but my boys. They’ve been wearing t-shirts celebrating Hibernian FC’s historic Scottish Cup victory – the team’s first since 1902. Hibs are based in Leith in Edinburgh, where I was born. The seal of town features the word Persevere, and that’s why the t-shirts say #persevered. It may have taken 114 years, but they got there in the end. It fits perfectly with my ‘just keep swimming’ approach to my writing. I just hope it doesn’t take me so long!

Heard

Hamilton

For a while now, I’ve been listening to and loving snippets of the new Broadway musical Hamilton on youtube. The official soundtrack has been out of stock for aaages, but I finally got my grubby mitts on it this week and Oh. My. God. It’s completely amazing and I’ve been listening to it non-stop. For those who don’t know (and I had no idea) it’s the story of Alexander Hamilton – one of America’s Founding Fathers. He was an immigrant and he rose up to become a hero of the revolution and the first secretary of the treasury. The musical has been called the first hip-hop musical but it’s so much more than that. It’s funny, political, joyful and very catchy. It’s also got a very diverse cast and lots of historical Caucasian figures are played by black and Hispanic actors. The insanely talented Lin Manuel Miranda, who wrote and stars in the show, said:  “Our cast looks like America looks now, and that’s certainly intentional. It’s a way of pulling you into the story and allowing you to leave whatever cultural baggage you have about the founding fathers at the door. We’re telling the story of old, dead white men but we’re using actors of colour, and that makes the story more immediate and more accessible to a contemporary audience.”

In these times where immigrants are being painted as the enemy (on both sides of the Atlantic – I’m looking at you, Trump), I think Hamilton’s got a really important message for us all, both in the story it tells and in the way it’s told. It’s coming to London in 2017 and I’ve already registered for tickets.

Leave a Reply

